Good design/bad design 3: Intrusive Update

While listening to a PowerPoint lecture from my professor, a McAfee notification suddenly pops up over the presentation immediately exiting the slideshow. How rude, I thought to myself. Why didn’t McAfee design this notification as a pop-under, which would wait until the user finished what he was doing? I cannot tell whether this design is McAfee’s or Microsoft’s fault, but this is definitely bad design.

Is the update notification so urgent that the user has to immediately forget whatever he is doing to attend the matter? What would be the repercussions if my professor had not immediately installed the update? Would his computer suddenly crash from a virus infection or exploded? How would this fare had this McAfee update notification suddenly popped up during a professional presentation?

What really got me was not the fact that the pop-up appeared over the PowerPoint slide, but it exited the slideshow. Wouldn’t it have been far less intrusive had this pop up notification appeared in the taskbar and wait till the user clicked it?

McAfee Update

P.S A few minutes later a java notification popped up resulting in the same thing.

3 responses to “Good design/bad design 3: Intrusive Update

  1. I have seen the same thing when it requires the user to approve actions. But the user doesn’t have the permissions to do the required actions. Because it requires a change to the software, it must be done by an administrator, not the average user. The software doesn’t recognize this, and continues to inform every user who logs in (every time) until it is satisfied with the result. That could be weeks later.

  2. I think I missed some of your posts… like this one, for example. I had some things come through in my RSS feed, but you had deleted them by the time I clicked on them.
    If there are any posts that I have not liked or commented on, please let me know – it would help tremendously if you send me the permalinks to those posts.

    This is a great example of extremely rude software behavior, in Cooper’s terms.

  3. yeah, that seems like it would be annoying. I get that constantly from other services when I’m using my PC. I hate how sometimes you have to authenticate yourself as well, even when you’re logged in a the administrator

Leave a Reply

