Ranking with Social Media

It may come as no surprise to many people that Google uses social media in ranking websites in the search results. For example one could go the internet right now on Fiverr.com and find hundreds of social media services offering Facebook like, shares, pininterest, tweets, stumbled upon ect. And when you think about it, it makes sense right? I mean we all know Google love fresh content and if there is some content being shared by everyone on social media, then it should be very important. Lately I’ve been thinking about the value of G+ in ranking a website in the search results. I mean Google is pushing it on us and frankly I’ve got no problem with it because I think it might be very useful in SEO. For example, now you comment on YouTube through you G+ page.

I read MOZ article some time ago which reported of a scientific correlation between Google +1’s and higher search engine rankings. Based on that correlation study the number of Google +1 Pages linking to your website is beaten only by page authority. I think I read another article sometime age which said and showed an example of a Google +1 page being listed in the search engine results. Will I jump on ship? I already have my friend. Google owns Google +, don’t you think they will give their social media platform some serious juice? Currently the number of Facebook share a site receives positively affects it ranking in the search results. Google is already doing so with their platform.

I was hoping for the same with GPlus, but the word is that GPlus don’t provide any link juice to your website” Matt Cutts said so”. I was disappointed to hear that, yet I will try and see for myself.

We already know how valuable social media is in ranking you in the search results. My goal is to see how effectively Google +1 pages can help me accomplish this. Will let you know how it goes in a future post.

Link to the Article: http://moz.com/blog/google-plus-correlations

Leave a comment